Menu Close

Types of Prayers and Number of Rak'ats

1: Creed 2: Manners 3: Character 4: Act of Worship 5: Deeds

  1. Purification-Make Pure
  2. The Manners of Relieving
  3. Wudu–Ablution
  4. The Adhan Iqama
  5. Ghusl–Full Bath
  1. TayammumDry Ablution
  2. Masahpass wet hand over feet
  3. Menstruation Postnatal Bleeding
  4. Salat–Namaz-Salat
  5. Funeral Regulation

Types of Prayers and Number of Rak'ats

Namaz Rakats: How many number of Fardh Salah do we offer and how many nafil namaz are there in a day? Learn this Islamic topic for amount of Fard, Sunnat and Nafil rak’ats in whole day.
The Fard Sunnat Nafil Salat & Amounts of 5 Namaz Rakat a Day

1:The Fard-Obligatory Salat:

The obligatory prayers are five:  1—•Zuhr Namaz-noon, 2—•Asr Namaz-afternoon, 3—•Maghrib Namaz-sunset, 4—•Ishah Namaz-evening, 5—•Fajr Namaz-dawn

The Messenger of Allah ﷺ said:
Five prayers have been made obligatory by Allah upon the servants. Whoever comes with them, having not done anything in them that would detract form what is obligatory in them, then for him is with Allah a covenant that he will admit him into Paradise. Whoever does not come with them, then there is no covenant for him with Allah. If He wills, He will punish him, if he wills, He will forgive him (Ahmad)

2:The Sunnah Prayers-Sunnat Muakkadah Sunnat Ghair Muakkadah:

 The Sunnat prayers include: 1: Sunnat Mokadda-wajib  2: Sunnat Ghair Mo’akda-Ghair wajib
what does Sunnat Mo’akda, Mean?

Sunnat Mokadda Means: Those required rakaat which Holy Prophet (PBUH) used to offer regularly all the time, seldom skipped it like The two rakaat  before Fajr fard namaz or after it….etc

NoteThose who pray these Two Rakaat, are awarded, and those who don’t do it ,they are not getting sins but they are blamed for it.

1:Sunnat Muakkadah\wajib:  1—•Witr Namaz-The odd prayer,    2—•Two Rakat Fajr NamazThe dawn,         3—•The Two Eid prayers,   4—•Khusuf NamazThe eclipse prayer,   5—• Istisqa NamazThe rain prayer.    All these Sunnat Mokadda prayers has been emphasized.

How to perform sunnat mokadda?

What does Sunnat Ghair Mo’akda Mean?

Sunnat Ghair Mokadda Means: Those optional rakaat which The Messenger of Allah ﷺ prayed sometimes and left them sometimes like Two Rakaat before maghrib fard salaat….etc

Note: Those Muslim who perform them, are rewarded, and who do not do, are not blamed for it.

2:Sunnat Ghair Mokadda\ ghair wajib: Tahiyyat-ul-Masjid-greeting the Masjid, Ar-Rawatib-the fixed prayers) that accompany the obligatory prayers, Sunnat-ul-Wudhu’ (two Rak’ahs performes after ablution), Ad-Dhuha (the forenoon), At-Taraweeh (the Ramadhan voluntary night prayer), and Salat Al-Layl (the voluntary night prayer) prayers. All these are known as Sunan prayers that are not emphasized.

How to perform sunnat ghair mokadda?

 3: The Nafil-Voluntary Prayers:

Nawafil plural form of an Arabic word Nafil that means voluntary or optional salaat.

Any prayer that is prayed daily or nightly that is not one of the Sunnat Mokadda prayers or Sunnat Ghair Mokadda prayers mentioned above is known as a Nafil or voluntary prayer.

Following are some of the Nawafil-Voluntary Prayers:
1: Eight Rakaat of Tahajjud
2: Two Rakaat after the four/two Rak’at of Sunnah at the end of Dhuhr Prayer
3: Four Rakaat before Fardh of ‘Asr Prayer
4: Two Rakaat after the two Rak’at at the end of Maghrib Prayer
5: Four Rakaat of Ishraaq Prayer
6: Two Rakaat offered when one enters a mosque
7: Two Rakaat offered when seeking blessing fro God Almighty
8: Two Rakaat offered as Salat-ul-Hajaat
9: Two Rakaat offered as Thanks giving Prayer

Note: The Nafil-voluntary namaz is not obligatory but is best, One may offer as many nafil-voluntary salaat as one wish. However, Nafil prayers should not be offered during the forbidden like between Asr and Maghrib time. It is superior to perform nafil salah at home rather than in a masjid.

Amounts of  Five Prayers Rakaat a Day:

Fajr Namaz:
1: First two rakaat Sunnat Mokadda
2: Two rakaat Fard

Zuhr Namaz:
1: Four rakaat Sunnat Mokadda
2: Four rakaat Fard
3: Two rakaat sunnat Mokadda
4: Two rakaat Nafli (Optional but spiritually beneficial)

Asr Namaz:
1: Four rakaat sunnat ghair mokadda (Optional but spiritually beneficial)
2: Four rakaat Fard

Maghrib Namaz:
1: Three rakaat Fard
2: Two rakaat Sunnat Mokadda
3: Two rakaat nafl (Optional but spiritually beneficial)

Isha Namaz:
1: Four rakaat sunnat e Ghair Mokadda (Optional but spiritually beneficial)
2: Four rakaat Fard
3: Two Rakaat Sunnat Mokadda
4: Two rakaat Nafil (Optional but spiritually beneficial)
5: One OR three rakaat Wajib
6: Two rakaat Nafil (Optional but spiritually beneficial)

Scroll to Top
We're available for a call

Skype ID Name


WhatsApp Contact